News

A new hybrid material for efficient and sustainable gas separation: the role of operando IR spectroscopy on the result published in “Nature Materials”

By Marco Daturi, Professor at the LCS

The synergy between four laboratories (the LCS of Caen, the ILV / IMAP of Versailles / Paris, the ICGM of Montpellier and the KRICT of Korea) with unique skills in synthesis, advanced characterization and modeling of materials, made possible to design a organic-inorganic hybrid porous system, commonly known as the Metal Organic Framework (MOF), capable of preferentially fixing nitrogen gas, even in the presence of other gases.

The MOFs have a zeolite structure, composition and structural entities similar to those of an organometallic compound, but are solid, stable up to relatively high temperatures and with spatial control of the active entities, A very important accessible porosity for adsorbing reagents or molecules then confined within their pores.

operando IR spectroscopy had a key role

Flow tests (operando conditions) have shown that some of these solids (especially if they are composed of chromium-based active centers) are very efficient in the selective adsorption of nitrogen in the presence of a gas mixture, in particular methane and oxygen. DFT calculations on the active sites for nitrogen fixation allowed us to understand that the Cr (III) oxoclusters, stabilized by a hybrid structure based on tricarboxylate ligands, exhibit a specific (and unusual, interaction with respect to other metal cations such as Fe (III) or Al (III)) with the nitrogen molecules. The reasoned choice of the best solid corresponding to these characteristics led to the synthesis of a crystallized porous material containing a very high density of Cr (III) sites, the total evacuation of the water of which allows access to unsaturated metallic sites, i.e., available for the adsorption of nitrogen molecules, as confirmed by in situ spectroscopic analyzes.

Left: Infrared spectra showing nitrogen adsorption at sites of MIL-100 (Cr) material; Right:breakthrough curves of the mixtures of nitrogen / oxygen (high) and nitrogen / methane (low), showing the high efficiency of MIL-100 (Cr) compared to similar materials based on iron or aluminum.

 

These results are of major importance because they made possible to identify, for the first time, an easily recyclable material capable of purifying natural gas (mainly composed of methane, but contaminated by high concentrations of nitrogen) or separating oxygen from the air, at low pressure and temperature, without using the processes commonly employed, which are often energy-intensive. No porous solid had so far been able to carry out this type of separation by thermodynamic effect.

From a more general point of view, this is a brilliant demonstration that it is possible to shape porous hybrid solids of the MOF type in order to adapt them to particular chemical reactions. The prospects are numerous on the one hand from the industrial point of view to develop more efficient processes of separation of the gases and on the other hand it opens the way to other applications, especially in catalysis of the nitrogen products.

For more information

See Nature Materials (2016)

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone

Actualités

Un nouveau matériau hybride pour une séparation des gaz efficace et durable: Le rôle de la spectroscopie IR operando sur le résultat publié dans « Nature Materials »

Par Marco Daturi,  Professeur au LCS

La synergie entre quatre laboratoires (le LCS de Caen, l’ILV/IMAP de Versailles/Paris, l’ICGM de Montpellier et le KRICT coréen) aux compétences uniques en synthèse, caractérisation avancée et modélisation de matériaux, a permis de concevoir un système hybride organique-inorganique poreux ordonné, communément appelé Metal Organic Framework (MOF), capable de fixer préférentiellement l’azote gazeux, même en présence d’autres gaz.

Les MOFs possèdent une structure zéolithique, une composition et des entités de construction similaires à celles d’un composé organométallique, mais en étant solides, stables jusqu’à des températures relativement élevées et avec un contrôle spatial des entités actives, le tout bénéficiant d’une porosité accessible très importante pour adsorber des réactifs ou molécules alors confinés au sein de leurs pores.

La spectroscopie IR operando a eu un rôle clé

Des tests réalisés sous flux (conditions operando) ont démontré que certains de ces solides (surtout si constitués de centres actifs à base de chrome) sont très efficaces dans l’adsorption sélective de l’azote au milieu d’un mélange de gaz, notamment le méthane et l’oxygène. Des calculs DFT sur les sites actifs pour la fixation de l’azote nous ont permis de comprendre que les oxoclusters de Cr(III), stabilisés par une structure hybride à base de ligands tricarboxylates, présentent une interaction spécifique (et inhabituelle, par rapport à d’autres cations métalliques comme Fe(III) ou Al(III)) avec les molécules d’azote. Le choix raisonné du meilleur solide correspondant à ces caractéristiques a conduit à la synthèse d’un matériau poreux cristallisé contenant une très haute densité de sites Cr(III) dont l’évacuation totale de l’eau permet d’accéder à des sites métalliques coordinativement insaturés, c’est-à-dire disponibles à l’adsorption de molécules d’azote, comme l’ont confirmé des analyses spectroscopiques in situ.

Figure article Marco Daturi

gauche : spectres infrarouge montrant l’adsorption d’azote sur les sites du matériau MIL-100(Cr) ; droite : courbes de perçage des mélanges azote/oxygène (haut) et azote/méthane (bas), montrant la grande efficacité du MIL-100(Cr) par rapport à des matériaux analogues à base de fer ou d’aluminium.

 

Ces résultats ont une importance majeure, car ils ont permis d’identifier pour la première fois un matériau facilement recyclable, capable de purifier le gaz naturel (notamment constitué majoritairement de méthane, mais contaminé par des concentrations élevées d’azote) ou de séparer l’oxygène de l’air, à basses pression et température, sans utiliser les procédés couramment employés, le plus souvent énergivores. Aucun solide poreux n’avait permis à ce jour de réaliser ce type de séparation par effet thermodynamique.

D’un point de vue plus général, ceci est une brillante démonstration qu’il est possible de façonner des solides hybrides poreux de type MOF afin de les adapter à des réactions chimiques particulières. Les perspectives sont nombreuses d’une part sur le plan industriel pour développer des procédés plus efficaces de séparation des gaz et d’autre part cela ouvre la voie à d’autres applications, particulièrement en catalyse des produits azotés.

Pour plus d’information

voir Nature Materials (2016) doi:10.1038/nmat4825

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone